What You Should Know About Plastic

BPA is a chemical that mimics our hormones and can cause a plethora of health issues and hormonal imbalances. While most companies who produce reusable water bottles have switched to using BPA free plastic they are still not safe. They may still contain estrogen mimicking chemicals. Not only is this happening in water bottles but in baby bottles, toys, formula dispensers and many other plastic products currently being produced.  12 prominent scientists did a review in 2012 disclosing their findings of “substantial evidence” that hormone-altering chemicals are damaging, even at minute doses.   Check the research out here. http://press.endocrine.org/doi/full/10.1210/er.2011-1050

BPA, the most studied estrogen-mimicking compound, has been linked to a long list of problems, including asthma, cancer, infertility, low sperm count, heart disease, liver problems, and ADHD. In some cases, the effects appear to be following down the blood line, meaning the chemical genetically modifies inside individuals causing disease in future generations. There are many plastic products that do not test positive for these troublesome chemicals until they are exposed to heat. Below is a link to a very helpful website that has a fantastic chart, if you scroll down a bit. If you would like to know if there are hormone-altering chemicals in your plastic bottles this is the place to go!http://www.motherjones.com/environment/2014/06/bpa-free-plastics-tritan-nalgene-dangerous#methodology

These hormone and endocrine disrupters are also found in canned foods. Which means they are also in your little fluffy friends wet canned food. I recently started making kitty food for my cat because I decided she deserves better than to eat what I won’t. I really don’t like to bash on things but the current plastic industry is messing with a lot of lives and I want to share the knowledge I have learned along the way. On that note let’s talk about some great food ware alternatives.

Glass, Wood and stainless steel are all safe alternatives to the ever cheap, unsafe plastic. There are all sorts of options at our disposal. I bought a glass baby bottle, was given a stainless steel sippy cup and have a few glass water bottles of my own. It truly is remarkable how much better your drinks and food taste whence you make the switch to glass over plastic. I used to think that the chemically leeched taste that was just how water was supposed to taste. Oh my, was I wrong! 

At our home for our littlest one we use a wooden spoon and a wooden bowl. I find my mind at ease knowing she has the safest she can. I hope this information is well received and you will soon begin to know the pleasures of tasting your food and water fully. Being in peace with knowing what is being taken into your body. If you don’t already.

BLESS

 

Author: Woman Thunder Nakai Tallon Hollow Horn

Greetings!! I am a young woman on a path of self healing and to share the light . We are all the light ! I will share with you what has helped me along my journey because I trust that if you are here you are able to embrace the light and follow love. Loving blessings , Woman Thunder

Leave a Reply

